Skip to main content

What is the project collaborators tool and how do I use it?

The project collaborators tool allows you to add team members to help you manage different aspects of your project. On the Collaborators page you will be able to invite members of your team and determine how much each collaborator can do or access through the checkboxes, this includes:

  • Edit project: Collaborator can make edits to your project's basics, story, rewards, FAQs, and Spotlight page.

  • Manage community: Collaborator can post updates and comments, view backer-only updates, mark comments as spam, and view and reply to backers’ messages sent directly to the creator.

    • Please note: For a collaborator to be able to view and reply to backers’ messages they will also need to be given access to your backer report through the “Coordinate fulfillment” permission.

  • Coordinate fulfillment: Collaborator can manage surveys and access your backer report*.

  • Configure pledge manager: Collaborator can set up and launch Kickstarter’s Pledge Manager for your project.

  • Analytics: Collaborator can access the creator dashboard for your project. This allows them to view top-level project stats, backer referral data, follower stats, and other marketing and attribution information. We recommend this option if you are working with a marketing agency who only needs high level information, but not editing capabilities or access to sensitive backer data.

To add a collaborator to a project that has not launched, head to your project edit page, then visit the ‘People’ section and click the ‘Add your first collaborator’ button in the ‘Collaborators’ section of this page. If your project is live or has already ended, you'll want to navigate over to your creator navigation bar and click the 'Collaborators' link.

Note that project collaborators must have an existing Kickstarter account in order to be added as a collaborator on your project. Additionally, every collaborator you add to your project will show as a collaborator on the Creator tab of your project, regardless of the permissions they are granted.

Once you’re finished adding your team to your project, feel free to introduce them to your community on your project page or in an update.

Some important details to keep in mind for collaborators:

  • Collaborators with the “Analytics” permission will have access to your basic project funding data. That means your overall funding progress, the amount (both percentage and dollar) pledged to each reward tier, the total number of backers per reward tier, video play statistics, and your referral tags. However, no collaborators will be able to see detailed financial information such as bank details, or be able to view the Payouts page or issue refunds.

  • Collaborators are limited to 100 total projects at one time. If you're having trouble adding a collaborator to your project, they may need to be removed as a collaborator on a different project to bring their total collaborative projects under that limit.

Can my collaborators view and reply to backers’ messages?

Yes! If you would like to give a collaborator permission to view and reply to messages sent to the creator inbox, you can do so by checking the box for “View and reply to direct messages” under “Manage community”. Additionally, they will need access to your backer report. To do this, also check the box for “View backing activity and access the backer report” under “Coordinate fulfillment”.

You and your collaborators will share one project inbox and anyone with this permission will be able to view all sent messages.

On the backer’s side they will always see which collaborator is responding, and your collaborators will appear under a "Their team" section of the message side panel.

*Limits to collaborator backer report tools:

  1. All refunds must be issued from the main creator account of the project.

Collaborators must abide by our Privacy Policy and are required to treat backers’ personal information with the same care and respect as you are. You are responsible for ensuring your collaborators are aware of the restrictions on their ability to reuse any backer information for purposes other than helping you with your project.

Did this answer your question?